I DIDNT WATCH THE GAME! OR RECORD IT! ON PURPOSE!

I have been feeling very convicted recently. While reading the Bible or listening to podcasts I have had the overwhelming nag in the back of my mind whispering, “what are you doing?”. Not literally like “hey bro what are you doing right now” but more like “this is what you’re choosing to be thinking about and doing? Over anything else in the world, this?”

It got me thinking AND doing math- two things Cal will tell you don’t happen often or at the same time for me. Try to follow me here.

24 hours a day.

7 days a week.

52 weeks a year.

Somewhere around 80 years on Earth.

698,880 hours.

That’s it. That’s all. Bang. Done. Gone.

Dust meet dust, good seeing you again.

“Make the best use of the time, because the days are evil. Therefore, do not be foolish but understand what the will of the Lord is.”

Ephesians 5:16-17

Now try following this.

If we sleep 8 hours a night, that’s 1/3 of our life. Boom. 232,960 hours gone.

Do you work? I do…. averages out to be 8 hours a day (accounting for Saturday and Sunday which I work rarely)

Alright 8 hours left in a day. 232,960 hours left.

Do you eat? How long does that take?

What about the dog, kids, other side projects around home? You ever have to stop at a stoplight? What about errands, chores, homework, working at home, getting ready for bed. Boom. To quote South Park (awful show with a few funny lines)

“AND ITS GONE.” “It’s all gone”

What takes up your 8 hours left after work and sleep? I have a few things. According to the Bible I will call these temptations. My temptations are as follows in no particular order:

College Football

Any other football

social media

movies/tv/video games

reading novels

All other sports.

These literally CONSUME my every moment. I refresh my twitter to see if there is any new Auburn news. (there’s usually not) I read IMDB to see what else Mark Ruffalo played in. I know exactly what score the super bowl was, the teams that played ten years ago, I can tell you who is the leading rusher at Auburn and what year it happened, need to run down the entire roster? I am your man. I can name every ESPN analyst and tell you their whole back story. I can quote movies like no one else (except my friend Robert) I schedule my life around sports. Gameday Saturday? nothing else can be going on. Super bowl sunday? Stop everything. I can tell you what Cam Newton said in his Heisman speech. I know exactly what plays Auburn ran in the loss to Miss St. Pretty foolish (Ephesians 5) eh?

You know what I can’t tell you?

I can’t tell you what Jesus said in the Sermon on the Mount. I can’t tell you all the prophets of the Old Testament. I can’t tell you what Bible verse specifically talks against homosexuality. I can’t quote the Bible like I can any song I’ve ever heard.

How sad is this: I spend more time thinking about sports than I do talking to, walking with, and worshiping a God that came down for me, was tortured for me and died in my place.

“When tempted, no one should say, “God is tempting me.” For God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does he tempt anyone; but each one is tempted when, by his own evil desire, he is dragged away and enticed. Then, after desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, give birth to death. Don’t be deceived my brothers.”

James 1:13-18

So tonight. I’m not watching the national championship game. In the spring I won’t be watching Game of Thrones and filling my mind with women who are not my wife. @JasePatrick is no longer a live twitter handle.

I’m going to spend time with my wife. I am going to press into the Lord through scripture and I am going to pray and spend time with the Lord. It is what he commanded me to do. Nothing feels like this weight on my shoulders from realizing I have been WASTING my time away from the Lord for almost 24 years.

Church lasts about 1 hour most places. Once a week. 52 hours a year.

52/8736 = NO WHERE NEAR ENOUGH. Do I honestly think that is enough for the God that gave EVERYTHING for me?

In Luke 8  we are told the story of the woman who reached out to touch Jesus in the crowd. She was bleeding, nothing on Earth could help her and all she wanted to do was touch her Lord’s robe. Just touch Him. After Jesus feels power leave Him to heal her He calls out to her. She professes to the world the miracle Jesus has done in healing her and He responds by saying

“Daughter, your faith has healed you. Go in peace.”

I am bleeding all over the place. And I have been reaching out to fill all my voids with everything in the world. All my temptations. I pray when I see the Lord He can tell me, “Son, your faith has healed you.”

College football is a blessing to be enjoyed. But it is a terrible God. It brings more sadness and frustration than joy at times. It leads to fights, angry words, drunkenness and hate. I am not saying watching sports is bad, I am saying that anything that takes your focus off of your God is DANGEROUS. It is a slippery slope and it will not lead you to salvation. Enjoy football. Don’t worship it. It will fail you every time. Enjoy sports with your friends and family, take in the art of film making but never put it first like I have been for so many years.

So please PLEASE pray for me. Pray that I fight my temptations. That I don’t give in. Pray that I can find a way to put my God and my wife in front of Auburn and Rob Stark. Please pray for me. If you are reading this I beg that you pray for me because I am far from being the man that the Lord created me to be.

I pray you know your Lord. I pray you find and uproot your temptations. The enemy is soooooo good at finding stuff to fill our schedules with that have NOTHING to do with the Lord. I pray you know that the Lord will never abandon you. No matter how far you wander. No temptation can overcome His love for you. EVER.

“No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful, he will not let you be tempted beyond what you cannot bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.”

1 Corinthians 10:13

We are praying for you. We hope you are surrounded by people who ask you the same question we have been asking ourselves:

“What are you doing?”

-Jase

#RobertsForever

Leave a Reply

